About Us

The Ohio Municipal League was incorporated as an Ohio non-profit corporation in 1952 by city and village officials who saw the need for a statewide association to serve the interests of Ohio municipal government.

The Ohio Municipal League is governed by a Board of Trustees, elected by the membership. The Board consists of two immediate past presidents of the League, as long as they are municipal officials, and 22 Trustees elected for four-year terms. Of the 22 Trustees, at least one must be: the mayor of a city or village; a city manager; a fiscal officer or finance director; a solicitor or director of law; a member of a municipal legislative body, other than the mayor. The Board is the policy-making body and appoints an Executive Director to manage the League under their general direction.

Any city or village, by proper action of its legislative body and payment of the annual membership fee, may become a member. When an Ohio municipality becomes an active League member, all of the elected and key appointed officials are eligible to use the available services.